Adad Hannah – English

The Unwrapping Rodin photographs are a new step in my ongoing exploration of Auguste Rodin’s sculptural work, mostly focused on his seminal work Les Bourgeois de Calais (1895). The other works I have completed are Age of Bronze (2004), Burghers of Seoul: Recast and Reshoot (2006), and Les Bourgeois de Calais: Crated and Displaced (2010).

For more than five years I have been producing artworks and writing texts related to Rodin’s oeuvre and its relationship to photography. I find his work interesting for several reasons, including the way it bridges the spaces between the romantic and the modern/post-modern, the object and the replica, movement and stasis. World famous during his own lifetime (partly a product of a newly international press) he fell out of favour until the latter part of the 20th century when writers such as Rosalind Krauss took a newfound interest in his work.

In my photography and video works I have long been interested in the dichotomy between people and sculptures. As the human body and its representations are admitted back into contemporary art, I find it interesting to look at the creative, powerful, and defining gaze – at each other and at themselves – of viewers, models, and artworks.

Talking about sculptures in his book The Dream of the Moving Sculpture (though this quote is perhaps equally pertinent to photographs) Kenneth Gross says, “we recognize in the statue an image of the fate of bodies, a fate elected out of a desire to deny our vulnerable, penetrable, wasting, and dying physical persons, to provide ourselves with idealized stone mirrors” (Gross 17). Gross goes on to itemize the differences between humans and statues, from the latter’s inability to absorb “food, bullets, air, sounds, or signs” to their reluctance to release anything either (“words, blood, excrement, children”)[1]. So how then can these inert lumps of bronze become so human? Is it in the way they compete with us for space, unlike paintings that are willing to hang on the periphery awaiting our gaze? Perhaps figurative sculpture, often hollow, commonly made out of materials that can withstand the elements, is the perfect foil for our desires; a surface shell below which we can imagine into being whatever it is we desire or fear.

In 2005 Phyllis Lambert came to see an exhibition of mine, and we started chatting. She asked me what I was working on next, and when I replied that I was going to Seoul to work on a project around The Burghers of Calais she invited me to come and see her Burgher, a full-size nude of one of the Burghers, Pierre de Wissant (Rodin first made nude versions of the six Burghers before draping them with cloth for the final grouping). When I visited her place to see this sculpture for the first time in 2005 she mentioned having taken some photographs that she wanted me to see. A week or so later she sent me a sequence of slides she had shot some 30 years ago while unwrapping the recently transported bronze. Having read several books about Muybridge[2] and Marey as part of my PhD studies I could not help but see these images as frozen moments of action, frames from an imaginary movement created by peeling away the chrysalis-like packing material used to transport the sculpture.

With all of this in mind I had the idea to restage and reshoot this sequence of images. Being restaged they automatically lose the personal and loose feeling of the originals and approach documentary photographs of sculpture such as we might see in an art history text. However the protective wrapping and the masking tape, which would never be seen in a textbook, take equal footing in relation to the bronze they are attached to. At the same time the sequence reads as movement, as a sculpture pushing away its covering and revealing its impenetrable bronze surface. Restaging these photos, hiring a professional conservator to rewrap the sculpture for the sole purpose of being unwrapped and photographed, creates a series of images that are quite similar to the images they are based on yet produced for different reasons using different means. This transposing is in a way similar territory to what I was interested in when making Cuba Still (Remake) in 2004-2005.

I chose to print these photos at a larger size than I have ever printed before, the reason for this is that I wanted the photographs to occupy space in a similar way that a sculpture does, to confuse the distinction between an object and a photograph of an object.

-Adad Hannah

[1] “Statues are comfortably without hidden insides; they void the human body’s scandalous interior life, its hidden spasms, desires, reflexes, motions, and noises…” (Gross p32). Photography does this too. My videos do it as well, though they then begin to break down, revealing some of the scandalous workings of the human body.

[2] It is interesting to note that Rodin, at first a critic of photography, was a subscriber to Muybridge’s Animal Locomotion.

Adad Hannah was born in New York in 1971, spent his childhood in Israel and England, and moved to Canada in the 1980’s. He lives and works between Montreal and Vancouver. Adad Hannah has been working on his series Stills consisting of silent videos that exist at the intersection of performance, photography, and video. Based on the 19th-century practice of tableaux vivants, Hannah’s videos, photographs, and installations look at how we perform as spectators, and how our gaze can be a constructive one as we try to make sense of ourselves and the world around us.

He has exhibited at institutions worldwide including the Prague Biennial (2011), Aldrich Museum (2010), Samsung LEEUM Museum, Seoul (2011), Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2010, 2008), Zendai MoMA, Shanghai (2009), Ke Center for Contemporary Art (Shanghai 2008), the Vancouver Art Gallery (2007), the National Gallery of Canada (2011, 2006), Ikon Gallery (Birmingham 2006), the 4th Seoul International Media Art Biennale (2006), Casa Encendida (Madrid 2006) and Viper Basel (2004). In 2004 he won the Toronto Images Festival Installation/New Media Award, and the Bogdanka Poznanovic Award at Videomedeja 8. His work has been funded by the Canada Council for the Arts, the Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec, the B.C Arts Council, the Vancouver Foundation/Contemporary Art Gallery, the Quebec Delegations and Canadian Embassies in Madrid, Seoul, and New York. He has produced works at museums including the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, the National Gallery of Canada, the Vancouver Art Gallery, the Rodin Gallery (Seoul), and the Prado Museum (Madrid).

Hannah’s work can be found in the public and private collections like Sir Elton John,  the National Gallery of Canada, the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, the Ke Center for Contemporary Art (Shanghai) and the Zacheta National Gallery of Art (Warsaw) among many others.

PHOTOGRAPHS

   
Unwrapping Rodin (Blue) 1                  Unwrapping Rodin (Blue) 2
2010                                                      2010
c-print                                                    c-print
175.25 x 127 cm (69″ x 50″)                 175.25 x 127 cm (69″ x 50″)
edition of 2                                            edition of 2

   
Unwrapping Rodin (Blue) 3                  Unwrapping Rodin (Blue) 4
2010                                                      2010
c-print                                                    c-print
175.25 x 127 cm (69″ x 50″)                 175.25 x 127 cm (69″ x 50″)
edition of 2                                             edition of 2

   
Unwrapping Rodin (Blue) 5                  Unwrapping Rodin (Blue) 6
2010                                                      2010
c-print                                                    c-print
175.25 x 127 cm (69″ x 50″)                 175.25 x 127 cm (69″ x 50″)
edition of 2                                             edition of 2

   
Unwrapping Rodin (Blue) 7                  Unwrapping Rodin (Blue) 8
2010                                                      2010
c-print                                                    c-print
175.25 x 127 cm (69″ x 50″)                 175.25 x 127 cm (69″ x 50″)
edition of 2                                             edition of 2


Unwrapping Rodin (Blue) 1
2010
c-print
175.25 x 127 cm (69″ x 50″)
edition of 2

INSTALLATION

Adad Hannah – Français

Les photographies Unwrapping Rodin constituent une nouvelle étape de mon exploration continue de la sculpture d’Auguste Rodin, centrée surtout sur son œuvre phare Les Bourgeois de Calais (1895). Les autres œuvres que j’ai réalisées pour ce projet sont Age of Bronze (2004), Burghers of Seoul: Recast and Reshoot (2006), et Les Bourgeois de Calais: Crated and Displaced (2010).

« Depuis plus de cinq ans, je produis des œuvres d’art et des écrits en lien avec la sculpture de Rodin et sa relation à la photographie. L’art de Rodin me fascine pour plusieurs raisons, notamment pour la manière dont il réunit le romantique et le moderne/postmoderne, l’objet et la réplique, le mouvement et l’arrêt. Mondialement célèbre de son vivant (en partie un effet de la nouvelle presse internationale), il est passé de mode jusqu’à la seconde moitié du XXe siècle, lorsque des écrivains telle Rosalind Krauss ont renouvelé l’intérêt pour son travail.

Dans ma photographie et mes œuvres vidéo, je m’intéresse depuis longtemps à la dichotomie entre êtres humains et sculptures. Le corps humain et ses représentations étant de nouveau admises en art contemporain, je trouve fascinant d’observer le regard créatif, puissant et déterminant que posent entre eux et sur eux-mêmes spectateurs, modèles et œuvres d’art.

Commentant la sculpture dans son livre The Dream of the Moving Sculpture (bien que cette citation puisse être également pertinente dans le cas de la photographie), Kenneth Gross écrit : « nous reconnaissons en la statue une image du destin des corps, un destin élu, né de notre désir de nier notre personne physique vulnérable, pénétrable, périssable et mourante, afin de nous procurer un miroir de pierre idéalisé. » (Gross p.17). Gross détaille ensuite les différences entre les humains et les statues, de l’inhabileté des dernières à absorber de « la nourriture, des balles de fusil, de l’air, des sons ou des signes » à leur réticence de produire quoi que ce soit, qu’il s’agisse de « mots, de sang, d’excrément ou d’enfants » . Comment font alors ces masses inertes de bronze pour devenir si humaines ? Est-ce en rivalisant avec nous pour l’espace, à la différence des peintures qui acceptent de rester accrochées en périphérie dans l’attente de notre regard? Peut-être que la sculpture figurative, souvent creuse, couramment façonnée à partir de matériaux pouvant résister aux éléments, est le faire-valoir parfait de nos désirs; une coquille sous laquelle nous pouvons rendre réel en l’imaginant tout ce que nous désirons ou craignons.

En 2005, Phyllis Lambert est venue voir une de mes expositions, et nous avons amorcé une conversation. Elle m’a demandé quel était mon prochain projet, et lorsque j’ai répondu que j’allais à Séoul pour travailler sur une œuvre inspirée des Bourgeois de Calais, elle m’a invité à venir voir son Bourgeois, un nu grandeur nature du Bourgeois Pierre de Wissant (Rodin a d’abord réalisé des versions nues des six bourgeois avant de les draper pour le groupement final). Lorsque je suis allé découvrir cette sculpture, Phyllis a mentionné des photographies qu’elle voulait me montrer. Environ une semaine plus tard, j’ai reçu une suite de diapositives prises par Phyllis il y a quelque trente ans, tandis qu’elle déballait le bronze récemment livré. Ayant lu plusieurs livres au sujet de Muybridge  et de Marey dans le cadre de mes études doctorales, je n’ai pu m’empêcher de percevoir ces images comme des actions figées, comme représentant un mouvement imaginaire créé par le retrait progressif du matériel d’emballage, semblable à une chrysalide, utilisé pour transporter la sculpture.

De tout cela m’est venu l’idée de mettre en scène et de rephotographier cette séquence d’images. Mises en scène, elles perdent automatiquement la qualité personnelle et l’approche libre des originaux, s’apparentant plutôt au type de photographie documentaire que nous pouvons voir dans des textes d’histoire de l’art. Or, l’emballage de protection et le ruban adhésif, qui ne seraient jamais visibles dans un manuel, sont sur un pied d’égalité avec le bronze auquel ils sont encore attachés. Aussi, la séquence se déploie tel un mouvement, comme une sculpture repoussant son emballage et révélant sa surface de bronze impénétrable. La mise en scène de ces photos, l’embauche d’une restauratrice professionnelle pour réemballer la sculpture aux seules fins de pouvoir la déballer et la photographier, ont permis de produire une série d’images assez semblables à celles qui les ont inspirées, quoique réalisées pour différentes raisons et avec différents moyens. Cette transposition n’est pas sans liens avec ce qui m’intéressait lorsque je travaillais sur Cuba Still (Remake) en 2004-2005.

J’ai choisi d’imprimer ces photos en un format plus grand que toutes celles que j’ai imprimées auparavant, parce que je voulais qu’elles occupent l’espace à la manière dont le fait la sculpture, afin de brouiller la distinction entre l’objet et la photographie de l’objet. »
-Adad Hannah

[ 1 ] « Les statues se trouvent bien sans parties internes cachées; elles rendent obsolète la scandaleuse vie intérieure du corps humain – ses spasmes, ses désirs, ses réflexes, ses mouvements et ses bruits cachés… » (Gross p. 32). La photographie en fait autant. Mes vidéos le font aussi, cependant il y a un moment où elles se mettent à chuter/où elles tombent en panne, révélant les rouages scandaleux du corps humain.

[ 2 ] Il n’est pas sans intérêt de noter que Rodin, d’abord un critique de photographie, était un souscripteur de la série Animal Locomotion de Muybridge.

Adad Hannah est né à New York en 1971, a passé son enfance en Israël et en Angleterre, et a déménagé au Canada dans les années 1980. Il vit et travaille à Montréal et à Vancouver. Depuis plusieurs années, Adad Hannah travaille sur sa série Stills, constituée de vidéos muettes situées à la lisière entre la performance, la photographie et la vidéo. Inspirées de la pratique du xixe siècle du tableau vivant, les vidéos, les photographies et les installations de Hannah s’intéressent à notre comportement en tant que spectateurs, et à la qualité constructive de notre regard, tandis que nous tentons de nous comprendre nous-mêmes, ainsi que le monde qui nous entoure.

Adad Hannah a exposé ses œuvres un peu partout au monde, notamment à la Biennale de Prague (2011); au Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum, Connecticut (2010); au Samsung LEEUM Museum, Séoul (2011); au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2010, 2008); au Zendai MoMA, Shanghai (2009); au Ke Center for Contemporary Art, Shanghai (2008); à la Vancouver Art Gallery (2007); au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Ottawa (2011, 2006); à la Ikon Gallery, Birmingham (2006); à la 4e Biennale internationale d’art médiatique de Séoul (2006); à la Casa Encendida, Madrid (2006) et au festival Viper Bâle (2004). En 2004, il a remporté le prix Installation-nouveaux médias du festival Images de Toronto, ainsi que le prix Bogdanka Poznanovic du festival Videomedeja 8, à Novi Sad. Il a reçu l’appui du Conseil des Arts du Canada, du Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec, du B.C Arts Council, de la Vancouver Foundation/Contemporary Art Gallery, ainsi que des délégations du Québec et des ambassades du Canada à Madrid, à Séoul, et à New York. Il a réalisé des œuvres pour divers musées, dont le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal; le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Ottawa; la Vancouver Art Gallery; la Rodin Gallery, Séoul, et le musée du Prado, Madrid.

Les œuvres de Hannah font partie de plusieurs collections publiques et privées, dont celles de Sir Elton John, du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, du Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, du Ke Center for Contemporary Art (Shanghai) et de la Zacheta National Gallery of Art (Varsovie).

PHOTOGRAPHIES

   
Unwrapping Rodin (Blue) 1                Unwrapping Rodin (Blue) 2
2010                                                     2010
épreuve chromogène                          épreuve chromogène
175,25 x 127 cm (69″ x 50″)               175,25 x 127 cm (69″ x 50″)
édition de 2                                          édition de 2

   
Unwrapping Rodin (Blue) 3                 Unwrapping Rodin (Blue) 4
2010                                                      2010
épreuve chromogène                           épreuve chromogène
175,25 x 127 cm (69″ x 50″)                175,25 x 127 cm (69″ x 50″)
édition de 2                                           édition de 2

   
Unwrapping Rodin (Blue) 5                Unwrapping Rodin (Blue) 6
2010                                                     2010
épreuve chromogène                          épreuve chromogène
175,25 x 127 cm (69″ x 50″)               175,25 x 127 cm (69″ x 50″)
édition de 2                                          édition de 2

   
Unwrapping Rodin (Blue) 7               Unwrapping Rodin (Blue) 8
2010                                                    2010
épreuve chromogène                         épreuve chromogène
175,25 x 127 cm (69″ x 50″)              175,25 x 127 cm (69″ x 50″)
édition de 2                                         édition de 2


Unwrapping Rodin (Blue) 1
2010
épreuve chromogène
175,25 x 127 cm (69″ x 50″)
édition de 2

 

INSTALLATION